EU national leaders reach deal on next leadership

After a marathon three-day summit, heads of state finally reached a consensus on who will fill the top EU jobs. Nominations include: 

  • European Commission President: conservative German Defense Minister Ursula von der Leyen 
  • European Council President: liberal Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel
  • High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs / Vice-President of the Commission: socialist Spanish Foreign Minister Josep Borrell
  • European Central Bank President: conservative French IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde

The European Parliament also elected socialist Italian MEP David-Maria Sassoli as its new president for a half-term of two and a half years, after which time he will pass the baton to a conservative colleague for the second half of the term. 

The nominees for Presidents of the European Central Bank and Commission and the Vice-President of the Commission roles require parliamentary approval, and a vote is expected the week of July 15, 2019. If any of the candidates are not approved, national leaders will have a month to propose a new nominee.

If elected, von der Leyen and Lagarde would be the first women to hold their respective roles.  

News article - Politico