Paris' Club of creditor countries suspends US$1.8 billion in debt payments for 28 countries

The Paris' Club, a coalition comprising the biggest creditor countries excluding China, has suspended debt payments for 28 countries in 2020, amounting to US$1.8 billion in total so far. 

Countries benefiting from the debt payment suspensions are Angola, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, the Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Grenada, Guinea, the Ivory Coast, Kyrgyz Republic, Mali, Mauritania, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, and Zambia.

This is the result of an initiative led by the G20 in April of 2020 to support measures to counter the socio-economic impact of COVID-19. Eleven other countries could benefit from this delay, according to the director of the French Treasury, and President of the Paris Club, Odile Renaud-Basso.

News article - La Croix (in French) 

Press release - Paris' Club